1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Should reinstalling Hotaru wipe DB tables created by plugins?

Discussion in 'General Troubleshooting' started by Nick, Jul 16, 2009.

  1. Nick

    Nick Well-Known Member

    Currently, when you uninstall a plugin, it's removed from plugins, pluginhooks and pluginsettings in the database. Any additional tables or columns created by the plugin are NOT removed.

    This prevents users from accidentally wiping large quantities of data, e.g. the posts table (created by the Submit plugin), but it also means that if you reinstall Hotaru, your plugin-created tables and their content are still there! This is probably not such a good thing since you'd expect to start fresh after a reinstall.

    So, what do you think? Should Hotaru's install script seek out and remove plugin-created tables, too?

    Update: The ability to empty or delete those tables was added to the Maintenance page in Hotaru 0.5.
     

Share This Page