1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Your Fellow Newbie-Installation Problem-PLZ HELP

Discussion in 'Installation Specific Questions' started by justmailnaveen, Jul 4, 2010.

1. justmailnaveen

justmailnaveen New Member

I've installed and tried and tested 100's of CMS's all by my own w/o any problem at all coz the documentation for all these CMS's were so simple ,straight forward with examples .

i also have 3 mths experience (NIGHTMARE) of pligg:mad: ,drigg was awesome:D.

O.K ENOUGH OF BRAGGING:p = all this shit was only to show that i'm NOT a NEWBIE to CMS.:cool:

but this very CMS made me look and feel like a newbie.

F#@K YOU HOTARU ,u may have made a brilliant CMS but u FAILED to WRITE a simple and lucid DOCUMENTATION.

============================================================

OK now here's the problem [needless to say but documentation is the biggest problem]

I'm unable to install hotaru on localhost ,haven't tried it on live server yet (does it make any diff ???)

Here is exactly what i did

1.Extracted hotaru 1.3 and renamed the folder "hotaru" (folder structure is correct)

2.created database named "hotaru"-db user name "hotaruadmin"-db password "12345"

3.Renamed /hotaru_settings_default.php to /hotaru_settings.php.

4. Opened '/hotaru_settings.php' and edited the top section with database details
    and path to Hotaru was "http://localhost/hotaru/" and hit 'ctrl-s'

5. set file permissions as said

6. now here comes the problem :confused:

A>" Go to /install/install.php and step through the six steps, following the instructions in each."
    when i tried to find my db user name(hotaruadmin) by hiting 'ctrl-f' i get nothing. WHY ????

B> what the heck am i suppose to do or look or go through in this file (step 1-6 ???, i know that, it's all greek) and why my db details are not there at the bottom 'Configuration file for Hotaru CMS'